Case Tracking ID: XHA-E6T-3LE5
Bubs n Grubs > Bubs n Grubs Customer Service and Support > Your ticket

Faulty Product received.

 
Tracking ID: XHA-E6T-3LE5 (Ticket number: 5986)
Ticket status: Resolved
Created on: 2013-01-14 14:42:00
Updated: 2013-01-16 20:34:23
Last replier: Help Desk Representative 1
Category: Other
Replies: 15
Priority: High
 

 
Date: 2013-01-14 14:42:00
Name: Theresa Rich Hoyle
Email: richhoyle (at) iinet (dot) com (dot) au
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi.

Last week I received my order. When assembling the product in accordance with the instructions the support pole snapped due to the faulty construction and design.

I would like to arrange a full refund of this product and postage paid.

I called the Morningside store this morning in the hope to return this product directly and potentially swap it for another brand but was told I was only able to attend to this enquiry online. I assume this would have been beneficial to your company as it would have reduced postage costs for the return item and I would likely have swapped the product for another item/s and made additionally purchases. This was also obviously frustrating for me as I still don't have a working mosquito net. Not to mention I am a busy mother that doesn't appreciate the amount of time I've had to waste.

Also, you may wish to note that the Chrome web browser advises not to enter some sections of your website (specifically Baby Home Safety) as it is a known Malware site. This has prevented me from potentially making further purchases with your company.

I would appreciate your prompt attention to this matter.

Regards,
Theresa
 

Product Description this relates to: Mosquito Canopy Net
Order Date (if applicable): 07/01/13
Full Name used when the order was placed (if applicable): Peter Hoyle
email address used when you placed the order (if applicable): peter.j.hoyle@gmail.com
Was your order Placed on Line, Telephone or in Store?: On line
Order Number: 14259
Date: 2013-01-14 14:54:43
Name: Help Desk Representative 1
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi Theresa,

The Manufacturer has asked us to ask you to return the product to us so we can get them to assess it for warranty and get this resolved for you.

Please address the box as follows:

Bubs n Grubs
Ticket number: 5986
4/229 Junction Road
Morningside, QLD 4170

In regards to malware - we have no malware on our site and just ran a check via google chrome and it does not come up with that warning. This can happen sometimes if you have corrupted temporary internet files - you may wwish to clear your cache and cookies and I am sure you will not have any issues.

Regards,

Bubs n Grubs Help Desk
www.bubsngrubs.com.au

Was this reply helpful? yes / no
Date: 2013-01-14 19:36:40
Name: Theresa Rich Hoyle
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi,

Is this a reply paid address? How long will this process take? Can you please confirm that once the item has been deemed faulty that you will refund the postage I have paid? I am not particularly happy with this outcome as I have purchased an item in good faith and have a faulty product, time wasted, money spent and no mosquito net which I required urgently. Also, arranging return postage with a young infant is difficult at best (which is why I utilised an online purchase). I am now going to have to purchase another item from elsewhere & thus far the customer service I have received from your store has been far from satisfactory. I am also curious to know why you have requested I send the product back to Morningside but why when I had the opportunity to return the item today in person that wasn't an option?

Regards,
Theresa

Date: 2013-01-14 23:26:53
Name: Help Desk Representative 1
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi Theresa,

The item can be returned to our store in person or you can send it via Australia Post registered mail.

I am not sure why you would say the customer service is not satisfactory - you have received a response within 12 minutes of letting us know of a problem.

You could have returned it in person and still can - we just need the ticket submitted with your details so we can submit the warranty claim for you.

Once the item is assessed by the manufacturer for a manufacturing fault, then we can advise the outcome.

Regards,

Bubs n Grubs Help Desk
www.bubsngrubs.com.au

Was this reply helpful? yes / no
Date: 2013-01-15 11:46:50
Name: Theresa Rich Hoyle
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi,

I absolutely refuse to pay for postage to return this item to you for "assessment". I bought an item in good faith. The item is faulty. I wish to return the item for a full refund. It is ridiculous to pay for postage to and from for a faulty item that has been of no use. The onus therefore lies with your business. Monday morning was the only opportunity I had to return the item in person (which your company refused at that time).

The customer service I spoke to on the phone was rude and abrupt not to mention refused to help me as I had to submit this ticket. I can only type these emails whilst my daughter is asleep and would much prefer to talk to a human rather than this banter back and forth for days. Each email I have sent I have only had a half response and not a satisfactory outcome. As for your 12 minute response while I appreciate this is a swift response for an online enquiry - you refused to speak to me on the phone!

Please advise how you will arrange collection of this item to your store for your assessment (at your cost) and advise how long this WHOLE process will take for me to receive a complete refund.

At this stage I would certainly be never using this store again and fully intend to advise others of this incidence as I am appalled at the process, rudeness and complete lack of professionalism.

Regards,
Theresa

Date: 2013-01-15 14:08:04
Name: Help Desk Representative 1
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi Theresa,

We take these accusations and threats seriously.

I have just listened to the recorded phone call you made to our store at 10:41 AM yesterday.

The staff member in no way was rude or abrubpt with you and she did she refuse to help you at all - quite the opposite.

I am happy to play the recorded phone call to you.

She did in fact help you by advising you to submit this simple form on our website to lodge a warranty claim so we could approve or disapprove a replacement for you - she just was not prepared to agree to replace the item based on a phone call without the proper warranty procedure being carried out in writing as required by the manufacturer.

She never said you could not bring it in to store at all. She simply asked you to submit your warranty claim via this system first and the help desk team would be able to advise if we were able to replace it on the spot - she also suggested you attach a photo of the pole that you have snapped when assembling the item.

Make no mistake, we can't and wont be bullied into replacing an item without it being assessed or based on false allegations and threats.

Given your false allegations and statements regarding defaming our small family business, I strong recommend you read the terms and conditions of your contract to purchase which specifically cover this type of threat you have made.

In regards to your item, you are welcome to return the item to our store either by Australia post or in person. It will be assessed by the manufacturer for a manufacturing fault and if approved by them for replacement - mostly likely we would offer a replacement which would be dispatched at our cost.

The item needs to be returned for assessment first - this is not a black and white faulty item or situation unfortunately.

Regards,

Bubs n Grubs Help Desk
www.bubsngrubs.com.au

Rated as not helpful

Date: 2013-01-15 15:15:35
Name: Theresa Rich Hoyle
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi,

Regarding the phone call. I think this is a matter of perception. The staff member did not assist me. I was told she could not help me. She was not apologetic for the process and not being able to help me. This is your store processes and I am telling you as a customer that it is poor. I am a busy mum and don't have time to be writing these ridiculous emails.

I still do not not know:

A) How long will this process take?
B) Once you and the manufacturer recognise this issue is a fault with the product can you please confirm you will refund the postage paid initially as well as the item?
C) I still believe I should not have to pay for return postage for you to assess the item. I could take photos for the manufacturer to assess first so you can claim the costs of postage from them? (I strongly believe this cost is not mine to bear. I responded to you promptly upon receiving the item. (Within 7 days of the order). I tried to put the product together by myself the day I recieved it (Wednesday?) I couldn't put it together myself so had help trying to do it on Friday night which is when it broke. I then made first contact with you on Monday morning. Why would I bother with all this nonsense otherwise!). I resent the idea of what you are implying otherwise and it is not like I am contacting you a month later!

The process that you have with your manufacter is your process. I purchased an item from you. It is faulty. Therefore it is your responsibility to deal with me. I don't care about your own procedures later. I have worked in customer service in a retail environment for over 15 years. I understand the processes and I understand customer service.

This ticket/website and responses HAVE been rude and unhelpful.

I shouldn't be feeling like I am being the bully when you are bullying me! Refusing to help me over the phone, accusing me that it is not a faulty item & I am the one that has a) not got a product to use and b) you have my money!

Please advise a resolution that we can both agree on? I am happy to return the item (at your cost or the manufacturers) provided you can start to advise how long this process will take and confirm that you will refund the money (I do not want an exchange as I believe the product design itself is flawed).

I do not have time or the energy to continue with this "arguing"?

If a satisfactory response is not received to this email I will be taking this matter further (Paypal dispute and ACCC) as I am now completely frustrated with this process and personally affronted at the service and responses I have received.

This is disappointing and shocking from a family business. (Also, could you please advise if this is a franchise business or store owned?) With regards to you accusing me of "false allegations and statements regarding defaming our small family business" I have been truthful and straighforward from the outset. I would not be unhappy if you have dealt with this incident well from the outset. I wasn't asking anything unreasonable i.e. for a refund before you having the item and being able to assess it. If this sort of statement isn't poor customer service I don't know what is.

Theresa

Date: 2013-01-15 15:22:30
Name: Theresa Rich Hoyle
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi,

Sorry I just wanted to add...

The importance of knowing the timeframe and outcome is that I urgently require a mosquito net for my daughter. I know that the item broke due to no fault of my own (as I said earlier I followed the instructions). I therefore felt confident that your manufacturer would come to the same conclusion (I understand that this is not something you personally can be confident with but I would suggest the timeframe alone is indicative of this). Assuming I have to wait for a manufacturer response will you then provide a refund etc? As at the moment I need to feel secure to purchase another mosquito net elsewhere as my daughter urgently requires this. This also is why a timeframe is important information for me.

Theresa

Date: 2013-01-15 15:25:52
Name: Help Desk Representative 1
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi Theresa,

It is not a matter of perception =- the recorded phone call shows she was very polite and did nothing that is rude or said nothing that was rude and was not abrupt at all.

We would expect for the assessment to take no longer than a couple of days.

As the staff member advised - by providing a photo to us - it would most likely expedite the process for you.

If there is a fault that caused the item to be physically broken - then you will be offered a resolution in line with the Australian Consumer law.

We have not been rude to you and your continued false allegations are exactly why we will only discuss this in writing with you from now on.

In regards to "being truthful" the accusations are FALSE - the recorded phone call proves it - black and white - the staff member was not rude to you - she was helpful and was not abrupt.

Your responses from us have been fast.

We simply have advised we need the item to be reutnred for assessment.

This is the issue we believe you have had - you originally wanted it replaced without being assessed which is what the staff member was not able to do for you.

If the item has a manufacturing fault - it will be dealt with in line with the Australian Consumer law.

We are not gong to debate this any further.

You are more than welcome to check your rights with the Qld department of Fair Trading.

Regards,

Bubs n Grubs Help Desk
www.bubsngrubs.com.au

Rated as not helpful

Date: 2013-01-15 18:55:05
Name: Theresa Rich Hoyle
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi,

Regarding the phone call. The answer provided "I can't help you, you can't seek a refund/exchange from our store without using the web ticketing service" was unhelpful. Granted this is store process and not the attendants fault. But this (in my opinion) is poor customer service. The fact that she did not say "unfortunately" or "sorry that that has happened", "sorry for the inconvenience" etc is (in my opinion) rude and abrupt. I am entitled to this opinion. This is customer feedback which in most in cases you might take for constructive criticism rather than blaming your customer and "attacking" me. I further want to note that I would never complain simply about the phone customer service attendant for her lack of empathy. It was only mentioned due to the combined issues I have encountered with your store. I no longer wish to discuss our differing opinions on customer service, we will simply have to agree to disagree.

I have attached the photo of the damaged item for your information and forwarding for your manufacturer. Sorry the close up photos aren't the best. I had already sticky taped the broken bits to the pole in preparation of taking the item to your store on Monday. Also, additional information you may wish to provide to the manufacturer... "When attempting to construct the item the loops that the poles need to go in appear to small/close together (or the poles are too long). I attempted to assemble the item myself and as it was so tight I was unable to. Two of my family members later tried by themselves to no avail. When two of us tried together we finally got the 1 pole in and that is when it broke. Thinking further about it today I wondered whether the poles for the larger canopy were accidently put in this box which may account for the issue?

Could you please clarify "If there is a fault that caused the item to be physically broken - then you will be offered a resolution in line with the Australian Consumer law." Does this mean I will receive a refund for the item, a refund for the postage and if I am required to pay for return postage to your store that too?

Could you please confirm that your refuse to arrange for pickup of this item for assessment of my claim that the item is faulty?

Could you please confirm that in order for me to make a claim that the item is faulty you refuse to pay for the return postage up front? (i.e. You are requesting that I pay for return postage with no certainty that it will be refunded.

If the item is deemed a no fault return and I pay return postage, what will be the process for reimbursement?

With regards to your comment "We have not been rude to you and your continued false allegations are exactly why we will only discuss this in writing with you from now on." If your phone calls are recorded I don't see why you REFUSE to speak to me on the phone. I reserve the right to believe that causing a new mother to write continuous emails and refusing to offer a phone service is EXCEPTIONALLY poor service.

The following statement is incorrect. "This is the issue we believe you have had - you originally wanted it replaced without being assessed which is what the staff member was not able to do for you."

What I initially wanted was to return the item to your store for an exchange or refund. The item would have been presented at the time for assessment. Furthermore, my only issue with the online service was the fact that I had to pay for return postage or your company wouldn't make the arrangements for the pickup of the return. It further developed to a lack of information provided (I am still repeatedly asking the same questions without satisfactory answers) and the lack of professionalism, rudeness and poor customer service.

Theresa

Date: 2013-01-15 20:31:57
Name: Theresa Rich Hoyle
Printer friendly version

Message:

Unfortunately it isn't letting me upload the photos. They are approx. 3MB each and I've tried to upload them individually as well. Is there an email address I can forward them to instead?

Date: 2013-01-15 20:39:39
Name: Help Desk Representative 1
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi Theresa,

We refute those allegations and have proof to back that up.

Yes, you wanted the retail sales person to make an assessment she is not qualified to do and either refund or exchange on the spot. She can not do this and will not do this - the manufacturer has a right to assess the item themselves and this is what they want to do - especially when it is not black and white a manufacturing fault. Because she was not prepared to do that for you - you accused her of being rude and abrupt which is just one of the false allegations you have made.

We are happy to debate this in a court - but we are not going to debate this on here directly with you - we know it is factually incorrect and that is the way it is.

We have not offered poor customer service, been rude or shown a lack of professionalism. We just refuse to cop these false allegations from you which you continue to make despite recordings and everything being in writing.

The recordings show again that further statements made above are again factually incorrect as well.

There is no attachment with the photo - to attach a photo - click on the link and use the buttons below to reply with a photo.

When the item is returned, it will go to the manufacturer for assessment.

They usually get back to us within a couple of business days with a resolution.

Depending on the outcome of the assessment with depend on the outcome of the resolution - until it is assessed, I can not speculate and will not speculate on the resolution.

We are not getting into any further nonsense about this.

The item must be returned for assessment as per the terms and conditions of your contract to purchase in line with the Australian Consumer law.

If you are not happy with this - you are welcome to check your rights with Qld Fair Trading.

We are not debating this with you any further full stop.

If you wish to debate this further - please contact fair trading.

Regards,

Bubs n Grubs Help Desk
www.bubsngrubs.com.au

Rated as not helpful

Date: 2013-01-15 21:16:39
Name: Help Desk Representative 1
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi Theresa,

You can email the photos to sales@bubsngrubs.com.au and make the subject line Ticket number: 5986

Regards,

Bubs n Grubs Help Desk
www.bubsngrubs.com.au

Was this reply helpful? yes / no
Date: 2013-01-16 14:59:08
Name: Help Desk Representative 1
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi Theresa,

We are closing this ticket as we understand you have been to the manufacturer directly and they have assisted you and resolved any issue.

Regards,

Bubs n Grubs Help Desk
www.bubsngrubs.com.au

Rated as not helpful

Date: 2013-01-16 20:28:06
Name: Theresa Rich Hoyle
Printer friendly version

Message:

I no longer felt comfortable dealing with your company. I did not feel secure that your company could be trusted to complete the no fault claim with the manufacturer nor did I feel confident that you would be truthful to me. As you are aware I took the product personally to the manufacturer. As I suggested, the wrong poles had been supplied making it a faulty item.

Faulty items are unfortunately a uncontrollable occurrence in a retail environment. How you handle these issues as they arise with your customers is within your control.

There were really only two issues I raised from the onset.

Firstly, I wished to return the item in store. My intention being to hopefully refund or exchange the item immediately (I have been in desperate need of a net) and also to potentially make further purchases (I need some baby safety items and I regularly spend considerable money in baby product stores – Babies are expensive!).

Had the attendant advised “I may not be able to exchange the product immediately as it will need to be assessed by our manufacturer, however you can drop the product to us….” that would have been fine. But that wasn’t offered. I also wish to advise that just as I went to the manufacturer today, you could tested the product using the unbroken pole and immediately been aware of the issue. You could have also checked to see if you had another one in store to compare the item with. You would have been able to clearly identify the fault immediately if this was the case. This would have been providing good or even exceptional customer service.

Secondly, the issue of return postage of the faulty item. I agree that you couldn’t be certain the item was a no fault return until the item was assessed. It is your business decision on how you deal with this. I have never experienced an issue where a no fault claim lodged within 7 days of purchase wasn’t a no fault claim, however I recognise your right to do so. If you had simply replied “Unfortunately, we are unable to arrange postage or pickup until the item is assessed. I recognise you purchased the item online for ease of purchase, however once we receive the item and have had it assessed (usually a few days upon receipt of item) if the item is deemed a no fault return we will arrange refund of the return postage costs in accordance with our returns policy. Please keep your postage receipts for this purpose” (I found this on your website. I’m not sure why you didn’t direct me to this?)I specifically asked all of these questions on my correspondence at 14/1/13 20:36:40. Your reply on 15/1/13 00:26:53 completely disregarded my queries and concerns at which point I got indignant and refused to pay for return postage (which is my right).

As far as I can tell the rest of the conversation is you attacking me. I.e. Arguing that my perception of “rude and abrupt” service was wrong. That my perception of “poor customer service” was wrong. That I was making false allegations. That I was bullying. And throughout this correspondence you still refused to answer my clear questions on how your business would process my fault claims request.

My daughter now has a mosquito net. This is my main concern. Your company fought the ease of this happening in every way. The refusal to allow me to address this over the phone (which would have taken a matter of minutes rather than the wasted hours we have both spent emailing back and forth) and the blatant lack of empathy to help a new mother was astonishing. The experience I have had with your store has left me flabbergasted and astonished. (I am now beyond the frustration). The only reason I felt compelled to continue and now write this final email is due to the principle of the matter.

I am sincerely disappointed that I ever made a sale with you.

Lastly, here is a website that clearly provides information on customer service. I believe it would be quicker to study and review some customer service sites before arguing and antagonising the next unfortunate customer that receives a faulty product and dares query how it will work, question the process that your company has chosen or try and provide feedback (that isn’t to your satisfaction).

www.wikinomics.com/blog/index.php/2009/02/27/maslows-hierarchy-of-customer-service/

I sincerely hope no other new mother has to go through the stress and frustration I have dealt with by dealing with your company. (Unfortunately a quick google and facebook search shows I am not alone – If only had the hindsight to have checked this prior to every making an order with your company). I particularly found interesting that productreview.com.au has 74 terrible experiences and even a disclaimer stating

“Message from the Editor:

We have received several emails from concerned members asking to have their reviews for Bubs n Grubs removed. This has been due to threats they received from Bubs n Grubs in relation to members' reviewed experience.
We would like to inform all reviewers that provided your review is an expression of opinion (rather than a statement of fact) and your honestly held opinion at the time you submitted your review to ProductReview.com.au, you are protected by the law and should not feel legally threatened by anyone to remove your review.”

And you called me a bully!

I am going to wait for one final response from the owner of your company. If this is not to my satisfaction I will be sharing the “black and white” of this message with others. I will let them decide what kind of service you have provided. I am not ashamed or concerned about my correspondence. This is not a threat. Simply my right to share my experience in “black and white” with everyone I know.

Date: 2013-01-16 20:34:17
Name: Help Desk Representative 1
Printer friendly version

Message:

Hi Theresa,

All we wanted was for you to return the item for assessment to the manufacturer.

Exactly what you chose to do yourself with the manufacturer today as per their call to us to let us know all about your visit.

I have forwarded this along with the recordings and the copy of all the written communication above to our solicitor to deal with you directly.

We refuse to be bullied by customers or blackmailed.

I note that you agreed to terms and conditions in regards to your threats above as part of your contract to purchase and you also agreed to confidentiality on this website before using it.

We will be happy to see you in court should you breach those terms and conditions as you clearly intend to do above.

Regards,

Bubs n Grubs Help Desk
www.bubsngrubs.com.au

Rated as helpful